FOOT-

Foot and ankle deformities

Considering the functions of transmission of load and propulsion, the mechanical axes of the foot and ankle are of primary importance for proper function. By deformity we mean all alterations of these axes due to disease or trauma. Deformity may thus imply structural bone axes and/or functional joint axes. Deformities may thus be evaluated objectively, especially under weight-bearing conditions. We consider the appearance and shape of the foot to be at least as important as the radiological assessment.

Deformities about the foot and ankle may be present at birth or develop in childhood (developmental), degenerative (with age, arthrosis), associated with neurological diseases due to a dysbalance of muscles and tendons,post-traumatic (following fractures or dislocations), linked with other diseases: inflammatory such as rheumatoid arthritis , or metabolic such as diabetes or caused by tumors.

The foot presents twenty-eight bones: a lot when compared to the four bones which link the pelvis to the foot. Correcting deformities of the foot requires a thorough knowledge of anatomy and the function of bones, joints and the local musculature.

Efficiency of the hand relies on highly mobile joints but the forces involved are low. In contrast, optimal function of the foot relies on less mobile joints subjected to high forces due to gravity and the transmission of kinetic energy. Therefore, correction procedures about the foot and ankle include bone cuts (osteotomies), joint fusions or releases and transfers of muscle tendons.

It is better to light a lamp than to curse the darkness (Lao Tseu)

FOOT-

Fuss und Sprunggelenksdeformationen

Die mechanischen Achsen des Fusses und der Sprunggelenke sind ganz wesentlich für die Funktionen: statische Belastung, Abstoss und Abfederung. Die wichtigen Deformationen betreffen diese Achsen und können durch einen Unfall oder Krankheiten verursacht werden. Die entsprechenden Fehlstellungen liegen entweder im Knochen oder in einer Gelenksachse. Eine Fehlstellung muss in einer funktionellen Stellung untersucht werden, am besten barfuß und im Stehen. Die Beurteilung der äußeren Form des Fußes ist mindestens so wichtig wie das Röntgenbild.

Die Deformationen können bei der Geburt oder in der weiteren Entwicklung des Kindes zum Vorschein kommen. Sie können weiterhin mit einem degenerativen Prozess (Alter, Arthrose), Folgen eines neurologischen Leidens, Folgen eines Unfalls (posttraumatische Deformationen) oder einer chronischen Entzündung (Polyarthritis) und schließlich auch mit einem metabolischen Leiden (Diabetes) oder Tumoren verbunden sein.

Der Fuss hat 28 Knochen. Dies macht ihn zu einem relativ komplexen Gebilde im Vergleich zu den vier Knochen, die die Hüfte mit dem oberen Sprunggelenk verbinden. Korrekturen von Fussdeformitäten bedingen eine genaue Kenntnis der Anatomie und Funktion der betroffenen Knochen, Gelenke und Muskeln.

Die Effizienz der Hand basiert auf einer grossen Gelenkigkeit bei relativ kleinen Kräften. Beim Fuß wirken hingegen sehr große Kräfte bei einer relativ bescheidenen Gelenkigkeit. Korrekturoperationen am Fuss und an den Sprunggelenken bestehen besonders aus Osteotomien (Knochenschnitte und Umstellungen), Gelenksversteifungen und Versetzungen von Muskelsehnen.

Am Besten sagt man die Zukunft voraus indem man sie macht (Peter Drucker)